Winners Circle

Big Car Racing Association Champions

1958 Roy Walker (Co)
1959 Gordon Herring (CO)
1960 Jack Hahn (WY)
1961 Gordon Herring(Co)
1962 Gordon Herring(Co)
1963 Eddie Jackson/Dale Reed(CO/KS)
1964 Jack Hahn(Wy)
1965 Grady Wade (KS)
1966 Jay Woodside(Ks)
1967 Roy Bryant(Ks)
1968 Roy Bryant(Ks
1969 Jan Opperman(Ne)
1970 Lonnie Jensen(Ne)
1971 Jon Baklund(Mo)
1972 Lonnie Jensen(Ne)
1973 Edd French(Tx)
1974 Steve Troxel(Co)
1975 Jan Opperman(Mt)
1976 Larry Clark(Az)
1977 SammySwindell(TN)

Three  Time  winner  Gordon  Herring

Only three time Driver Champ on the BCRA,
Gordon Herring, Golden, Co (Photo by Leroy Byer)

Who Were the Big Car Racing Association Racers?

*** Indianapolis Competitors ***

Al Unser Sr
Bob Unser Sr
Al Unser Jr
Jan Opperman
Wayne Wieler
Tommy Frantz
Roger Rager
Joe Saldana

Al  Unser
Al Unser and Karl Mismach 1961 Colorodo State Fair

*** Knoxville Nationals Winners ***

Ray Lee Goodwin
Thad Dosher
Jay Woodside
Doug Wolfgang
Sammy Swindell
Eddie Leavitt
Joe Saldana
Jan Opperman

*** International Motor Contest Association/IMCA ***

Ray Lee Goodwin
Thad Dosher
Ralph Parkinson Sr
Gordon Woolley

*** California Racing Assoc/SCRA ***

Ron Shuman

*** United Motor Contest Association/UMCA ***

Walt McWhorter (55-56)

*** Top Feature Winners ***

Jack Hahn
Dale Reed
Roy Bryant
Lonnie Jensen
Lloyd Beckman

#8 - jack hahn donna norrick paul russo pueblo  11

2 time champ Jack Hahn of Cheyenne, WY with Trophy Girl Donna Norrick and Indy driver Paul Russo

*** Car Owner/Driver Titles ***

Winningest Owner, Ernest “Red”Forshee with 8 Features-2 Owner Titles

Larry Swanson Car Owner Titles 70-71-72

Gordon Herring Only 3 time Driver Champ

*** World of Outlaw Champion ***

Sammy Swindell

*** NCRA ***

Jerry Stone
Harold Leep
Herb Copeland

BCRA had Champions From 8 States including Colorado, Wyoming, Kansas, Nebraska, Texas, Montana, Arizona and Tennessee.

BCRA had Winners from 13 States including Colorado, Kansas, California, Arizona, New Mexico, Tennessee, Missouri, Iowa, Nebraska, Wyoming, Texas, Montana and North Dakota


The Author

Gary Wolfe

Leave a Reply

Big Car Racing Association and Hall Of Fame © 2014
All images are © BCRA, Leroy Byers, Les & Beryl Ward, Harry & Lynda Ivers, Jack Hahn
Site Created by Modern Advantage Marketing & Radco, Inc.
Site Hosted by Radco, Inc.
All Rights Reserved © BCRA

Copyrighted Image