BCRA History Pg. 4

The years of 1967 and ’68 were enhanced versions of 1966, with the club running all of its shows out of Colorado with the ’67-‘68 Championships going to Roy Bryant driving the Red Forshee Chevy. With the beginning of the second decade of BCRA competition, the BCRA had become not only a successful racing club, but also one that produced a number of top drivers, many of whom could win against the toughest Sprint car competition the country could produce.

In 1968 the Larry Swanson Team of Lincoln Nebraska would establish a new World’s Speed record at the High Banks of Belleville Kansas for a banked ½ mile track. The Swanson team would go on to dominate the High Banks while winning an incredible 6 features.

Famous Leroy Byers photo of Pres. Don Budy, congratulating the Swanson team on the new speed record at Belleville as he hands Lloyd Beckman a check. Larry Swanson is at far right.

Bill Smith and Driver Jan Opperman would reap BCRA championship laurels in 1969 and this Championship set the stage for an incredible run at the dirt tracks of the nation for Speedway Motors. This was the year that, despite repercussions from some competitors, the Big Car Racing Association went to roll cages. Not so many years earlier, some drivers had rejected the idea of mandatory seat belts!

The 1970 season was witness to the ‘Perfect Storm” on the BCRA circuit as Swanson and driver Lonnie Jensen of Lincoln, would eclipse the competition for its first BCRA Championship. And with the opening of the Erie Colorado track, New Mexico’s Buddy Taylor, Jerry and Wayne Miller and a host of others came North to compete.

Click for next page …

The Author

Gary Wolfe

Leave a Reply

Big Car Racing Association and Hall Of Fame © 2014
All images are © BCRA, Leroy Byers, Les & Beryl Ward, Harry & Lynda Ivers, Jack Hahn
Site Created by Modern Advantage Marketing & Radco, Inc.
Site Hosted by Radco, Inc.
All Rights Reserved © BCRA

Copyrighted Image